

Australian Capital Territory public schools

Jurisdiction-specific comments

- The ACT is the only jurisdiction in Australia to provide Early Childhood Schools which commenced during 2009 and one of the few jurisdictions to provide separate year 11 and 12 colleges.
- Public schooling financial data is compliant with ACARA's agreed methodology and only includes income for students from kindergarten and above.
- ACT public schools do not charge fees except for international students. Students are requested to make voluntary contributions.
- ACT public school staffing is managed through a points system and therefore
 financial data is allocated using this system and reconciled to the general ledger. The
 ACT public school system is committed to improved transparency in its funding to
 public schools.
- In 2020, there were six Introductory English Centres (IEC) in the ACT, at Dickson College, Charnwood Dunlop Primary, Hughes Primary, North Ainslie Primary, Wanniassa Hills Primary and Palmerston District Primary School. These schools received income to provide English as a Secondary Language services to enrolments from other ACT public schools.
- ACT public schools are not permitted to enter into contracts to borrow money.
- The ACT inherited high cost superannuation schemes from the Australian Government. While these schemes are closed to new entrants it has resulted in significantly higher costs than in other jurisdictions and sectors.